Planned Parenthood Texas Votes Announces 2018 State General Election Endorsements

Planned Parenthood Texas Votes (PPTV) is proud to announce our list of candidate endorsements for the 2018 general election cycle. The PPTV board of directors assesses candidate positions on a variety of reproductive health issues including access to birth control, evidence-based sex education, and safe, legal abortion. Endorsement decisions are based on a combination of voting records for incumbents, responses to candidate questionnaires, and publicly stated positions.

“Extreme Texas politicians have led the nation in attacks on reproductive health care with the support and favor of the Trump administration,” said Yvonne Gutierrez, Executive Director of PPTV. “The only way to stop the attacks against our basic health and rights is to change who represents us. Our ground game is focused on making sure that the 860,000 Planned Parenthood supporters in Texas turn out to vote for leaders who will fight against Donald Trump’s agenda, no matter what. Every politician who has made a career of undermining our freedom and rights, is on notice. We’re fighting to elect officials at every level of government who will protect women’s health and rights.”

In 2017, reproductive rights were under attack at the federal and state levels. During the Texas legislative session, lawmakers filed nearly 40 anti-abortion regulations — several of which passed under Senate Bill 8, which includes a ban on certain abortion procedures that has been blocked in federal district court. The 2018-2019 state budget continues to block patients from accessing care at Planned Parenthood health centers through health programs and goes even further to ban Planned Parenthood health centers from receiving any state funding whatsoever. At the federal level, Donald Trump and Mike Pence spent the last year working to block access to affordable birth control, defund Planned Parenthood health centers, cut teen pregnancy prevention programs, and strip away women’s fundamental right to control their own bodies.  

As a result of these attacks, Planned Parenthood saw an unprecedented outpouring of organizing, activism, and support. This year more than 90,000 Texans took action to support Planned Parenthood for the first time. Texans are demanding elected officials who will stand strong in support of their health and rights. Between now and Election Day, Planned Parenthood Texas Votes will work around the clock to make sure that voters know what is at stake in this election and where the candidates stand.

Planned Parenthood Texas Votes Endorsed Candidates:

Challenger Endorsements:
Lupe Valdez, Governor
Mike Collier, Lieutenant Governor
Justin Nelson, Attorney General
Miguel Suazo, Land Commissioner
Joi Chevalier, State Comptroller
Kim Olson, Agriculture Commissioner 

State Senate Districts
Mark Phariss, SD 8
Beverly Powell, SD 10
Nathan Johnson, SD 16
Rita Lucido, SD 17
Steven Kling, SD 25

State House Districts
L. Sarah DeMerchant, HD 26
Erin Zwiener, HD 45
Vikki Goodwin, HD 47
James Talarico, HD 52
Michelle Beckley, HD 65
Sharon Hirsch, HD 66
Ana-Maria Ramos, HD 102
Terry Meza, HD 105
Joanna Cattanach, HD 108
Brandy Chambers, HD 112
Rhetta Andrews Bowers, HD 113
John Turner, HD 114
Julie Johnson, HD 115
Trey Martinez Fischer, HD 116
Celina Montoya, HD 121
Alex Karjeker, HD 129
Gina Calanni, HD 132
Jon Rosethal, HD 135
John Bucy, HD 136

Incumbent Endorsements:
State Senate:
Kirk Watson, SD 14
John Whitmire, SD 15

State House: Endorsed or 100% pro-choice voting record
Bobby Guerra, HD 41
Gina Hinojosa, HD 49
Joe Moody, HD 78
Nicole Collier, HD 95
Rafael Anchia, HD 103
Victoria Neave, HD 107
Phil Cortez, HD 117
Barbara Gervin-Hawkins, HD 120
Ina Minjarez, HD 124
Alma Allen, HD 131
Sarah Davis, HD 134
Mary Ann Perez, HD 144
Garnet Coleman, HD 147 
Jessica Farrar, HD 148

Harris County: 
Marilyn Burgess, Harris County District Clerk
Adrian Garcia, Harris County Commissioner Precinct 2
Lina Hidalgo, Harris County Judge
Dylan Osborne, Harris County Treasurer
Diane Trautman, Harris County Clerk